2 handed Overhead Dumbbell Swing Mass/Cardio Exercise.

Ask strength and conditioning questions or share your knowledge.
strongmanmikebruce

2 handed Overhead Dumbbell Swing Mass/Cardio Exercise.

Postby strongmanmikebruce » Mon Mar 14, 2011 12:00 pm

This is one of my favorite exercises for both strength and conditioning. Some in the training realm don’t see the point of swinging anything overhead and believe that if you can swing it overhead than why not snatch it instead.

I have been doing Dumbbell swings since 1997. I learned this exercise from a magazine that showed legendary fitness pioneer the late Jack Lalanne demonstrating the exercise. What got my attention was that within the article Jack states that at his peak he could swing a 140# bell overhead. That is quite powerful for a man who weighed as light as he did.

I figured if it works for the great Jack Lalanne then it should work for me. And it did just that. I was able to do 20 repetition sets with a 125# dumbbell. My heaviest weight I have been able to throw overhead is 165# for 8 repetitions, and a 200#bell up to my forehead, but not overhead yet. You can see this in my Conditioning Machine 5 disc DVD set.

This exercise is great for conditioning or building power. It is a complex exercise with many little nuances. I will try to share these with you as best I can.

*1- Proper foot placement is everything with this movement. I like having my feet slightly outside shoulder width. I teach all my clients this foot placement. But everyone is different so see what works for you.

*2- Bend at the knees, stick your chest out, head up (remember where the head goes the body follows) this helps you maintain a flat back. A flat back is very important throughout this exercise. Pull your shoulders back.

*3- Now I want you to pick up the dumbbell and start swinging it back and forth through your legs. This is to get it moving, make sure you use plenty of leg power, use the legs to drive your hips forward.