Rapid weight loss rant

A place to discuss current events... All discussions must remain civil.
RepublicJim

Rapid weight loss rant

Postby RepublicJim » Sun Feb 28, 2016 12:04 am

Not quite sure where this topic fits, so I put it in this catchall category.

What is up with our country's fascination with rapid weight loss? Is it caused by "Biggest Loser" or is that show just an obvious symptom of the problem? Do that many people really think that losing large amounts of weight quickly is actually healthy?

This really got me irritated at work the other day when our "wellness committee" announced a weight loss competition. For crying out loud, I work in a hospital! Are they completely unaware of what is healthy and what isn't? Worse, a couple of committee members implied that I should participate. I told them that I wasn't interested, that I was actually trying to get more physically fit. That didn't sit too well with them. :mozilla_tongue:

Here's the thing: In four months of intense (for me) training I have only lost seven pounds, but I have lost nearly two inches from my waist! I have made solid progress in all my maximum lifts, bodyweight reps. sprint capability, etc., indicating that I am much stronger and fitter than I was. Obviously my increased muscle mass nearly offsets my weight loss from burning fat, accounting for the under two pounds per month loss. However, by the standards of the wellness committee I wouldn't even rate as competitive. By the very nature of the competition (cash prize for the "winner") they are encouraging people to do starvation diets and endless cardio for three months, as if that is any way to establish sustainable fitness.